Visite libre de l’église Saint-Sulpice | Journées du Patrimoine

Self-guided tour of the 11th-century church and an exhibition of photographs of the corbels and the church.
Acquired at the end of the 11th century by the monks of Abbaye-aux-Hommes, the Church of Saint-Sulpice in Secqueville-en-Bessin is a building of great stylistic purity and remarkable proportions. It was burnt down in 1105 during one of the wars of succession involving William the Conqueror, Duke of Normandy and King of England. However, the 11th-century nave has been preserved, whilst the transept and the tall lantern tower are thought to date from the early 12th century. The spire that crowns it was not added until the 13th century. The chancel is a Romanesque-style pastiche which actually dates from the Classical period (17th century).
For the most part, the church’s monumental character and the austerity of its décor bear witness to the work of the experienced master builders from Saint-Étienne-de-Caen. However, one may note the presence in the nave of a continuous band of low-relief motifs above the arches. On the exterior, you will notice these same decorative elements as well as the modillions. Secqueville is said to be one of the earliest examples of this decorative style, possibly of Anglo-Saxon origin (late 11th century), found in the nave of Bayeux Cathedral (mid-12th century).
This building has been listed as a historic monument since 1840.

Date

On Saturday 19 September 2026
Saturday Open from 14h to 18h
On Sunday 20 September 2026
Sunday Open from 10h to 18h

Prices

  • Free for all